

We Make Trade WORK for U.S. Companies & Manufacturers

Countries Currently* with Operating Primary Aluminum Smelters

Argentina	Malaysia
Australia	Mozambique
Azerbaijan	New Zealand
Bahrain	Norway
Brazil	Oman
Cameroon	Qatar
Canada	Romania
China	Russia
Egypt	Saudi Arabia
France	South Africa
Germany	Spain
Ghana	Sweden
Greece	Tajikistan
Iceland	Turkey
India	United Arab Emirates
Indonesia	United Kingdom
Iran	United States
Kazakhstan	Venezuela

Source: Information derived from CRU Group, reprinted with permission.

Note: For further questions about country smelting capability, contact aluminum.license@trade.gov *Updated on July 3, 2023: Removed Montenegro, Netherlands, Spain, Slovakia, Slovenia (Facilities No Longer Operational)

**Updated December 13, 2024: Spain added (facility restarted operation in 2024)